Saturday, January 7, 2017

Eyexist/The Digital Holocaust/PRC Music/2016 CD Review

  Eyexist  are  a  band  from  Montreal,  Quebec,  Canada  that  plays  a  very  symphonic,  avant  garde  and  technical  form  of  death  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "The  Digital  Holocaust"  which  was  released  by  PRC  Music.

  Sci  fi  style  synths  start  off  the  album  and  also  gives  the  music  a  symphonic  feeling  and  after  the  intro the  music  gets  heavier  while  also  keeping  the  symphonic  elements  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard  and  after  awhile  deep  death  metal  growls  along  with  high  pitched  screams  make  their  presence  known.

  At  times  the music  can  be  very  progressive  and  avant  garde  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  the  riffs  also  bring  in  a  decent  amount  of  melody  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  when  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in  a  very  melodic  fashion  and  one  track  also  brings  in a  brief  use  of  spoken  word  parts and  they  also  bring  in  a  brief  symphonic  instrumental  before  returning  back  to  a  heavier  direction  on  the  following  tracks  and  as  the  album  progresses  more  electronic  music  elements  are  added  onto  the  recording  along  with  the  music  getting  more  technical.

  Eyexist  plays  a  style  of  death  metal  that  is  very  progressive,  avant  garde  and  symphonic  sounding  while  also  mixing  in  some  technical  elements  to  create  something  very  original,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  science  fiction  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Eyexist  are  a  very  great  sounding  symphonic  and  avant  garde  death  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "The  Digital  Holocaust"  "Alone  Against  The  Earth"  "Eliminate  And  Eradicate"  and  "They  Came  From  Within".  8/5  out  of  10. 

No comments:

Post a Comment